My 2013 Events

Image

In 2009, while my husband was in Korea, I was in Maryland with our first baby, and I had plenty of extra time to sit around and realize I wanted to do something more.  I needed to do something more with myself, something to push myself out of my comfort zone.  Something physically challenging… even just a little bit.  So, when a group of friends invited me to participate in the Iron Girl Triathlon in 2010 as part of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training (http://www.teamintraining.org) I said “YES!”.  Since then, I have done a series of 5ks and a Warrior Dash.  This year, I want to do even more!  So, here is my (growing) list of fun and challenging events for 2013:

1.  GO RUCK Challenge April 2013, https://www.goruck.com/Events/Challenge

When my husband told me he signed us up for this challenge I immediately started reading as many blogs as I possibly could about this event.  I concluded the Go Ruck Challenge is a slightly scary mystery.  What I do know is that you have to carry a ruck around the city hosting the event for 8 to 10 hours, covering about 15-20 miles, while doing all kinds of energy exerting exercises with a group of strangers who make up your team.  I hear it involves buddy carries, bear crawls, log carries, and lots and lots of water.  I am ready.  And excited.

2.  Benaroya Research Institute Seafair Triathlon 2013, http://www.seafair.com/anevent.aspx?ID=5

After competing in the Iron Girl Triathlon I was hooked.  I wanted to compete in other sprint triathlons with the goal of bumping up to the olympic distance triathlons.  Since it has been a few years, I plan to start here.  This event highlights the fight against autoimmune diseases.  Another event right up my alley.

3.  Tough Mudder Seattle October 2013, http://toughmudder.com

Well, this event just looks like fun.  And if we can get a sitter, I am looking forward to taking on mud, ice cold water, and getting shocked throughout the course with my loving husband.  The Warrior Dash gave me a hunger for fun, but oh-so-challenging events.  Tough Mudder, quench my thirst.

I am excited about these three events and I plan to add others throughout the year!  Color runs, zombie survival runs, bikes throughout Washington state.  There are so many challenges out there and I am ready to take them!

Image

Leave a Reply

