And The Countdown Begins: 34 Days

So, it has occurred to me that I only have 34 days until I take on a crazy little adventure known as a “GO RUCK CHALLENGE”.  If you haven’t heard of Go Ruck or any of their events I suggest you visit http://www.goruck.com and take a gander at what my husband has signed us up for!  From what I understand, we will be spending about 8 to 10 hours running around Seattle carrying ruck sacks full of bricks with about 28 strangers who will make up our team.  Our 8 to 10 hours will be spent crawling, climbing, lunging, squating, lifting, and just plain sweating while making sure our rucks, team weight (minimum 25 lbs), American flag, and anything else we pick up along the way stay off the ground.  Our event will be led by a group of cadre who all have some kind of military background in Special Operations and who all love the way good pain feels.  Yeah.  “Good Pain.”

They say anyone can take on the challenge and successfully complete it as long as they are willing to work as a team and never give up.  It is a test of heart.  And with the cadre out there to, uhm, motivate us, I am sure we will be reminded of this often.  I look forward to pushing through all of the fun to the end and am glad that my husband and I are taking on this event together!  In 35, or maybe 36, days I will be posting an update about surviving this challenge.

34 days.  I feel like I should lift something or go for a run right now.  Anyway, I wanted to share my stats for anyone who might be wondering what kind of physical shape I am in before taking on the challenge:

I’m 5’1″, weigh 123 lbs, and just had a baby 6 months ago.  My longest run since her birth has been 2-miles and I haven’t done a ruck in a little over a year.

Wish me luck and check back in about 35 days for my post-Go RUCK Challenge story!

Here is my husband, wrapping his bricks for our challenge.

Pictured:  My husband wrapping bricks for the challenge.  Six for anyone over 150lbs, four for anyone under 150 lbs.  Carrying bricks, and water, and snacks, oh my!

Leave a Reply

